Paperback Writer and Rain

30 May

On May 30, 1966 the Beatles released the single “Paperback Writer” b/w “Rain” in North America.

Paperback Writer was a standalone single released in June 1966, written by Paul McCartney and recorded over two consecutive days during the Revolver sessions.

” Paperback Writer is son of Day Tripper, but it is Paul’s song. Son of Day Tripper meaning a rock ‘n’ roll song with a guitar lick on a fuzzy, loud guitar.” John Lennon


Released on the Paperback Writer single, “Rain” is considered by many Beatles fans to be their finest b-side.

“I don’t think he brought the original idea, just when we sat down to write, he kicked it off. Songs have traditionally treated rain as a bad thing and what we got on to was that it’s no bad thing. There’s no greater feeling than the rain dripping down your back. The most interesting thing about it wasn’t the writing, which was tilted 70-30 to John, but the recording of it.” Paul McCartney



23 May

On May 23, 1969, The Who released their fourth album, “Tommy. This was the first time a  musical work was billed as a rock opera.


21 May

Chuck Berry recorded his first single, “Maybellene,” at the Chess Recording Studio in Chicago on May 21, 1955. This recording is one of the first records to be successful on rhythm & blues, country & western, and the pop charts at the same time!

These three genres were the recipe for the new hybrid genre called rock and roll.

In 1988 “Maybellene” was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame for its influence as a rock and roll single.

When you listen to Pet Sounds… use ear phones in the dark!

16 May

Pet Sounds is the eleventh album by the  the Beach Boys It was released May 16, 1966, on Capitol Records. It has since been recognized as one of the most influential records in the history of popular music and one of the best albums of the 1960s.

For more on Pet Sounds go here and here.

The Survivors

23 Apr

The Survivors Live is a live album by country/rockabilly musicians Johnny CashCarl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis, released in 1982 on Columbia Records. It was recorded on April 23, 1981 in Böblingen, near StuttgartWest Germany, when all three singers, who had been labelmates at Sun Records at the beginning of their careers, were touring Europe. The show had initially been meant to feature only Cash, but Lewis and Perkins joined him onstage on a night when they did not have a concert scheduled themselves. Without rehearsal, the three performed a number of songs they were known for – including Cash’s “Get Rhythm” and Perkins’ “Blue Suede Shoes” – as well as slightly more obscure compositions. Perkins, Cash and Lewis had previously collaborated with each other, and with Elvis Presley (who had died in 1977), during the Million Dollar Quartet session, and would later collaborate for the album Class of ’55 with Roy Orbison in 1985. For the last song on the record “I saw the light”, Cash, Perkins and Lewis were joined by Cash’s sonJohn Carter and his daughter Cindy Cash.

Side 1

  1. Get Rhythm” (Cash) – 3:07
  2. I Forgot to Remember to Forget” (Charlie Feathers, Stan Kesler) – 2:44
  3. “Goin’ Down the Road Feelin’ Bad” (Traditional) – 2:59
  4. “That Silver Haired Daddy of Mine” (Gene Autry, Jimmy Long) – 3:10
  5. Matchbox” (Carl Perkins) – 3:18
  6. “I’ll Fly Away” (Albert E. Brumley) – 4:02

Side 2

  1. Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On” (Dave “Curly” Williams, Sunny David) – 4:04
  2. “Rockin’ My Life Away” (Mack Vickery) – 2:54
  3. Blue Suede Shoes” (Perkins) – 3:07
  4. “Peace in the Valley” (Thomas A. Dorsey) – 4:51
  5. Will the Circle Be Unbroken” (A.P. Carter) – 4:36
  6. I Saw the Light” (Hank Williams) – 3:25


  • Johnny Cash – Vocals, Guitar, Arranger, Liner Notes
  • Jerry Lee Lewis – Vocals, Piano
  • Carl Perkins – Vocals, Guitar
  • Jerry Hensley, Kenneth Lovelace, Bob Wootton – Electric Guitar
  • Marty Stuart – Guitar, Mandolin
  • Earl Ball – Piano
  • Jack Hale Jr., Bob Lewin – Trumpet, French Horn
  • W.S. Holland – Drums
  • Henry Strzelecki – Bass

The Rolling Stones release their first album.

16 Apr

The Rolling Stones is the debut album by the Rolling Stones, released by Decca Records in the UK on 16 April 1964.

The Rolling Stones became one of 1964’s biggest sellers in the UK, staying at #1 for twelve weeks.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. Route 66” (Bobby Troup) 2:20
2. I Just Want to Make Love to You” (Willie Dixon) 2:17
3. “Honest I Do” (Jimmy Reed) 2:09
4. Mona (I Need You Baby)” (Ellas McDaniel) 3:33
5. “Now I’ve Got a Witness (Like Uncle Phil and Uncle Gene)” (Nanker Phelge) 2:29
6. Little by Little” (Phelge/Phil Spector) 2:39
Side two
No. Title Length
7. I’m a King Bee” (Slim Harpo) 2:35
8. Carol” (Chuck Berry) 2:33
9. Tell Me (You’re Coming Back)” (Mick Jagger/Keith Richards) 4:05
10. Can I Get a Witness” (Brian Holland/Lamont Dozier/Eddie Holland) 2:55
11. “You Can Make It If You Try” (Ted Jarrett) 2:01
12. Walking the Dog” (Rufus Thomas) 3:10


The Rolling Stones
Additional musicians

About half of the songs can be found here.

Five in the top Five!

4 Apr


On April 4, 1964,  Billboard  listed the Beatles with America’s Top Five records.

(#5) “Please Please Me”

(#4) “I Want To Hold Your Hand”

(#3) “She Loves You”

(#2) “Twist And Shout”

(#1) “Can’t Buy Me Love”

Nine other Beatles singles were in the Hot 100 at the same time.