Archive | Rolling Stones RSS feed for this section

The Rolling Stones release their first album.

16 Apr

The Rolling Stones is the debut album by the Rolling Stones, released by Decca Records in the UK on 16 April 1964.

The Rolling Stones became one of 1964’s biggest sellers in the UK, staying at #1 for twelve weeks.

Side one
No. Title Length
1. Route 66” (Bobby Troup) 2:20
2. I Just Want to Make Love to You” (Willie Dixon) 2:17
3. “Honest I Do” (Jimmy Reed) 2:09
4. Mona (I Need You Baby)” (Ellas McDaniel) 3:33
5. “Now I’ve Got a Witness (Like Uncle Phil and Uncle Gene)” (Nanker Phelge) 2:29
6. Little by Little” (Phelge/Phil Spector) 2:39
Side two
No. Title Length
7. I’m a King Bee” (Slim Harpo) 2:35
8. Carol” (Chuck Berry) 2:33
9. Tell Me (You’re Coming Back)” (Mick Jagger/Keith Richards) 4:05
10. Can I Get a Witness” (Brian Holland/Lamont Dozier/Eddie Holland) 2:55
11. “You Can Make It If You Try” (Ted Jarrett) 2:01
12. Walking the Dog” (Rufus Thomas) 3:10


The Rolling Stones
Additional musicians

About half of the songs can be found here.

The Stones Second Single “I Wanna Be Your Man”

1 Nov

I Wanna Be Your Man is a Lennon–McCartney-composition that was recorded separately by The Beatles and The Rolling Stones. The Rolling Stones’ version was released a few weeks earlier on November 1. The song was primarily written by Paul McCartney, and finished by Lennon and McCartney in the corner of a room while Mick Jagger and Keith Richards were talking.[1]  

It seems that John and Paul got Mick and Keith into writing songs with this simple verse chorus single.


Get Off My Cloud

25 Sep

Single by The Rolling Stones
from the album December’s Children (And Everybody’s)
B-side I’m Free” (US)
The Singer Not the Song” (UK)
Released 25 September 1965 (US)
22 October 1965 (UK)
Format 7″ single
Recorded 6–7 September 1965, RCA Studios, Hollywood

Written by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, the song was recorded in early September 1965. The song is noted for its drum intro by Charlie Watts and twin guitars by Brian Jones and Keith Richards.[2] The lyrics are defiant and rebellious, which was common practice for the Rolling Stones around that time; they were beginning to cultivate their infamous “bad boy” image. The Stones have said that the song is written as a reaction to their sudden popularity after the success of “Satisfaction”. The song deals with their aversion to people’s expectations of them.

In the 2003 book According to… The Rolling Stones, Richards says: “‘Get off of My Cloud’ was basically a response to people knocking on our door asking us for the follow-up to ‘Satisfaction’… We thought, ‘At last. We can sit back and maybe think about events.’ Suddenly there’s the knock at the door and of course what came out of that was ‘Get off of My Cloud’.

The Rolling Stones Appear again on Ed Sullivan

11 Sep

On September 11, 1966 The Ed Sullivan Show opened the new fall season with a “really BIG show,” starring jazz trumpeter/vocalist Louis Armstrong on Ed Sullivan, comedienne Joan Rivers on Ed Sullivan and returning for their fourth appearance, The Rolling Stones. Despite the multiple appearances by the rockers, Ed Sullivan still had his rules. Joan Rivers recalls, “I was in the dressing room next to The Rolling Stones, and I remember he insisted they get their hair washed—and he was right. And they got their hair washed.”

Following dress rehearsal, the group also had been warned not to leave the studio before show time; but they didn’t listen and on their return were chased by a mob of fans who actually broke a glass door trying to follow the band back into CBS’s Studio 50 on Broadway. That evening, The Stones performed “Paint It, Black” from their new album Aftermath. For this rendition, Brian Jones played the song’s signature riff on sitar, sitting Indian style. The crowd loved the performance and even Ed told the crowd, “You’re yelling much better this year.” The band also performed their hits “Lady Jane” and “Have You Seen Your Mother, Baby, Standing in the Shadow?”

Beggars Banquet

26 Jul

July 26,1968

File:Beggar Banquet.jpg

The Rolling Stone  album “Beggar’s Banquet” has its release delayed because of their record label’s objection to the album’s cover design, which featured a graffiti-covered bathroom wall. Mick Jagger was furious. It was the first album on which Jagger played guitar.

Here are some of the details. By June, the sessions were nearly completed for the album in England, with some final overdubbing and mixing to be done in Los Angeles during July. However, both Decca Records in England and London Records in the US rejected the planned cover design – a graffiti-covered lavatory wall. The band initially refused to change the cover, resulting in several months’ delay in the release of the album. By November, however, the Rolling Stones gave in, allowing the album to be released in December with a simple white cover imitating an invitation card, complete with an RSVP. For those aware of the cover intrigue, an advertisement in the back of Rolling Stone magazine soon announced that “the Stones want you to have the banned cover” allowing completists to buy the original artwork as a full front and back album slick that they could glue or tape over the released version. Meanwhile, the idea of a plain album cover was also implemented by The Beatles for their eponymous white-sleeved double-album, which was released one month prior to Beggars Banquet. The similarity garnered widespread accusations of Beatle-esque imitation when Beggars Banquet was finally released. In 1984, the original cover art was released with the initial CD remastering of Beggars Banquet.

The Riots Start

24 Jul

On July 24, 1964, a riot broke out during a Rolling Stones gig at the Empress Ballroom in Blackpool, Lancashire. Keith Richards noticed a man with his hands on the stage exhorting the crowd to spit, and warned him, but the spitting continued. Richards is then reported to have  kicked him in the face, whereupon some of the 7000 fans in attendance started fighting. This caused over £4,000 in damage. Blackpool City Council later voted to ban the Stones from playing in the city. Forty four years later, the 2008 council voted to lift the ban, but a spokesman for the group said they had no plans to return.

Fifty years ago today, the Rolling Stones play their first gig!

12 Jul

Fifty years ago today, the Rolling Stones play their first gig at London’s Marquee Club. Mick JaggerKeith Richards and Brian Jones are there. On bass and drums are Dick Taylor and Mick Avory respectively, rather than eventual Stones Bill Wyman and Charlie Watts. Also, Ian Stewart plays piano. Christopher Sandford, the band’s biographer, charts this time here. Rolling Stone magazine talks about the Stones returning to the Marquee to mark this anniversary here.

However, the party will roll on into next year. “The Stones always really considered 1963 to be 50 years, because Charlie [Watts] didn’t actually join until January,” Keith Richards told RS earlier this year. “We look upon 2012 as sort of the year of conception, but the birth is next year.”

The soon to be “original” Rolling Stones; Bill Wyman, Keith Richards, Mick Jagger, Charlie Watts, and Brian Jones.