With the Beatles

18 Jul

On July 18th 1963, the Beatles enter the studio to record their second album.



 With The Beatles is the second studio album by the English rock group The Beatles. It was released on 22 November 1963, on Parlophone, and was recorded four months after the band’s debut Please Please Me. The album features eight original compositions (seven by Lennon–McCartney and “Don’t Bother Me“,George Harrison‘s first recorded solo composition and his first released on a Beatles album) and six covers (mostly of Motown and R&B hits). Most of the songs from the album were released in the United States by Capitol Records as the Meet The Beatles! LP on 20 January 1964, and the remaining that were not, featured on their next US album, The Beatles’ Second Album.

Recording data here.

Track listing

With The Beatles (side 1) –Parlophone yellow and black label.

All songs written and composed by Lennon–McCartney, except where noted.

Side one
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. It Won’t Be Long Lennon 2:13
2. All I’ve Got to Do Lennon 2:03
3. All My Loving McCartney 2:08
4. Don’t Bother Me” (Harrison) George Harrison 2:28
5. Little Child Lennon with McCartney 1:46
6. Till There Was You” (Meredith Willson) McCartney 2:14
7. Please Mister Postman” (Georgia Dobbins, William Garrett, Freddie Gorman, Brian Holland, Robert Bateman) Lennon 2:34
Side two
No. Title Lead vocals Length
1. Roll Over Beethoven” (Chuck Berry) Harrison 2:45
2. Hold Me Tight McCartney 2:32
3. You Really Got a Hold on Me” (Smokey Robinson) Lennon with Harrison 3:01
4. I Wanna Be Your Man Ringo Starr 2:00
5. Devil in Her Heart” (Richard Drapkin) Harrison 2:26
6. Not a Second Time Lennon 2:07
7. Money (That’s What I Want)” (Janie BradfordBerry Gordy) Lennon 2:50


According to Mark Lewisohn:[11]

The Beatles

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: